Gb Minor scale

G flat Minor scale for guitar.
The Gb Minor is a seven-note scale, also called Natural Gb Minor. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always Gb tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 2nd fret.


2 octaves

Gb minor scale diagram Notes: Gb - Ab - Bbb - Cb - Db - Ebb - Fb Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Gb Unison Tonic
2 Ab Major second Supertonic
b3 Bbb Minor third Mediant
4 Cb Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 Db Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Ebb Minor sixth Submediant
b7 Fb Minor seventh Subtonic

The third degree is written as Bbb, which is the same as A. The fourth degree is written as Cb, which is the same as B. The sixth degree is written as Ebb, which is the same as D. The seventh degree is written as Fb, which is the same as E. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • Gbm
  • Abdim
  • Ab
  • Bm
  • Dbm
  • Db
  • Eb

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Gb Minor scale.

The G flat Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 from the first note to the next octave.
The Gb Minor is relative to A Major. Both scales include the same notes but their tonal center differ.
The Gb Minor is identical with the Gb Aeolian mode.