Gb Gypsy Minor

G flat Gypsy Minor scale for guitar.
The Gb Gypsy Minor is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 2nd fret.


2 octaves

Gb gypsy minor scale diagram Notes: Gb - Ab - A - C - Db - D - F Intervals: 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Gb Unison Tonic
2 Ab Major second Supertonic
b3 A Minor third Mediant
#4 C Augmented fourth Subdominant
5 Db Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 D Minor sixth Submediant
7 F Minor seventh Subtonic

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
Gbm 244222 Gbm7 242222
Ab-5 XX6798 Ab7-5 X56778
Aaug X03221 AM7#5 54666X
Csus2 X35533 N/A N/A
Db X46664 Dbmaj7 X46564
D XX0232 Dmaj7 XX0222
Fm 133111 Fm6 XX0111

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Gb Gypsy Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The G flat Gypsy Minor consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which Gb functions as the tonic.
The Gb Gypsy Minor is also referred to as the Gb Hungarian Minor scale. It should not be confused with the Gb Gypsy Major scale.