F Minor scale

F Minor scale for guitar.
The F Minor is a seven-note scale, also called Natural F Minor. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always F tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 1st fret.

F Minor 2 octaves

F Minor scale diagram

F Minor full fretboard

F Minor scale whole guitar neck diagram

F Minor with note names

F Minor scale with note letters diagram
Notes: F - G - Ab - Bb - C - Db - Eb Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: SeptonicĀ 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 F Unison Tonic
2 G Major second Supertonic
b3 Ab Minor third Mediant
4 Bb Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 C Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Db Minor sixth Submediant
b7 Eb Minor seventh Subtonic

The F Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 from the first note to the next octave.
The F Minor is relative to Ab Major. Both scales include the same notes but their tonal center differ.
The F Minor is identical with the F Aeolian mode.

Beneficial to learn this scale is to observe the note steps starting from the root: whole, half, whole, whole, half, whole, whole. The same formula applies for the whole neck.

These are chords built from the notes of this scale:

Fm, Fm7, Fm9, Fm11
Gdim, Gm7b5
Ab, Abmaj7, Ab6, Ab6/9, Abmaj9, Abmaj13
Bbm, Bbm7, Bbm6, Bbm9, Bbm11, Bbm13
Cm, Cm7
Db, Dbmaj7, Db6, Db6/9, Dbmaj9
Eb, Eb7, Eb6, Eb9, Eb11, Eb13

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the F Minor scale.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: