Gb Ionian

G flat Ionian scale for guitar.
The Gb Ionian is a seven-note scale (also referred to as the Bb Major scale). Notes are displayed in the fingerboard diagram, with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 2nd fret.


2 octaves

Gb Ionian scale diagram Notes: Gb - Ab - Bb - Cb - Db - Eb - F Intervals: 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Gb Unison Tonic
2 Ab Major second Supertonic
3 Bb Major third Mediant
4 Cb Augmented fourth Subdominant
5 Db Perfect fifth Dominant
6 Eb Sixth Submediant
7 FMajor seventh Leading tone

The fourth degree is written as Cb, which is the same as B. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The G flat Ionian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half from the first note to the same in the next octave.
Gb Ionian is the first mode of Gb Major and therefore both scales include the same notes and in the same order.

This scale is used in numerous styles, such as various forms of pop, rock and classical music.
Since this scale is exactly the same as the Major scale you don't have to put any time into learning it.

The main three-note and four-note chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Gb 244322 Gbmaj7 XX4321
Abm 466444 Abm7 464444
Bbm X13321 Bbm7 X13121
B X24442 Bmaj7 X24342
Db X46664 Db7 X46464
Ebm X68876 Ebm7 X68676
Fdim XX3464 Fm7b5 XX3444

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Gb Ionian mode.