Gb Aeolian

G flat Aeolian scale for guitar.
The G Aeolian is a seven-note scale (also referred to as the Gb Minor scale). Notes are displayed in the fingerboard diagram, with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 2nc fret.


2 octaves

Gb Aeolian scale diagram Notes: Gb - Ab - Bbb - Cb - Db - Ebb - Fb Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Gb Unison Tonic
2 Ab Major second Supertonic
b3 Bbb Minor third Mediant
4 Cb Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 Db Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Ebb Minor sixth Submediant
b7 Fb Minor seventh Subtonic

The third degree is written as Bbb, which is the same as A. The fourth degree is written as Cb, which is the same as B. The sixth degree is written as Ebb, which is the same as D. The seventh degree is written as Fb, which is the same as E. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

Chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Gbm, Gbm7, Gbm9, Gbm11
Abdim, Abm7b5
A, Amaj7, A6, A6/9, Amaj9, Amaj13
Bm, Bm7, Bm6, Bm9, Bm11, Bm13
Dbm, Dbm7
D, Dmaj7, D6, D6/9, Dmaj9
E, E7, E6, E9, E11, E13

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Gb Aeolian mode.

The G flat Aeolian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, half, whole, whole, half, whole, whole from the first note to the same in the next octave.
Gb Aeolian is the first mode of Gb Minor and therefore both scales include the same notes and in the same order.

This scale is used in numerous styles, such as blues, rock, metal, and classical music.
Since this scale is exactly the same as the Minor scale you don't have to put any time into learning it.