G Minor scale

G Minor scale for guitar.
The G Minor is a seven-note scale, also called Natural G Minor. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always G tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 3rd fret.


2 octaves

G minor scale diagram Notes: G - A - Bb - C - D - Eb - F Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 G Unison Tonic
2 A Major second Supertonic
b3 Bb Minor third Mediant
4 C Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 D Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Eb Minor sixth Submediant
b7 F Minor seventh Subtonic

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • Gm
  • Adim
  • Bb
  • Cm
  • Dm
  • Eb
  • F

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the G Minor scale.

The G Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 from the first note to the next octave.
The G Minor is relative to Bb Major. Both scales include the same notes but their tonal center differ.
The G Minor is identical with the G Aeolian mode.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: