Gb Gypsy Major

G flat Gypsy Major scale for guitar.
The Gb Gypsy Major is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 2nd fret.


2 octaves

Gb gypsy Major scale diagram Notes: Gb - G - Bb - B - Db - D - F Intervals: 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Gb Unison Tonic
b2 G Minor second Supertonic
3 Bb Major third Mediant
4 B Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 Db Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 D Minor sixth Submediant
7 F Major seventh Leading tone

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
Gb 244322 Gbmaj7 XX4321
G 320003 Gmaj7 320002
Bbm X13321 Bbm6 688686
Bm X24432 BmM7 X24332
Db-5 X4566X Db7-5 X45456
Daug X32110 Daug7 XX0312
Fsus2(b5)   F6/9b5sus2  

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Gb Gypsy Major scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The G flat Gypsy Major consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which Ab functions as the root tone.
The Gb Gypsy Major is also referred to as the Gb Spanish gypsy scale or the Gb Byzantine scale.