Gb Melodic Minor scale

G flat Melodic Minor scale for guitar.
The Gb Melodic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the fingerboard diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 2nd fret.


2 octaves

Gb melodic minor scale diagram Notes: Gb - Ab - Bbb - Cb - Db - Eb - F Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Gb Unison Tonic
2 Ab Major second Supertonic
b3 Bbb Minor third Mediant
4 Cb Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 Db Perfect fifth Dominant
6 Eb Minor sixth Submediant
7 F Minor seventh Subtonic

The third degree is written as Bbb, which is the same as A. The fourth degree is written as Cb, which is the same as B. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • Gbm
  • Am
  • Aaug
  • B
  • Db
  • Ebdim
  • Edim

The tones in these chords corresponds to the tones of the Gb Melodic Minor scale.

The G flat Melodic Minor scale consist of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The Gb Melodic Minor is one of three Gb Minor scales, the other two are Gb Natural Minor and Gb Harmonic Minor.
The scale is identical with the Major scale apart from the minor third. Because of this, it is sometimes referred to as Ionian b3 scale.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: