G Gypsy Minor

G Gypsy Minor scale for guitar.
The G Gypsy Minor is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 3rd fret.


2 octaves

G gypsy minor scale diagram Notes: G - A - Bb - C# - D - Eb - F# Intervals: 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 G Unison Tonic
2 A Major second Supertonic
b3 Bb Minor third Mediant
#4 C# Augmented fourth Subdominant
5 D Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Eb Minor sixth Submediant
7 F# Major seventh Leading tone

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
Gm 355333 Gm7 353333
A-5 X0122X A7-5 X67889
Bbaug X10332 BbM7#5 65777X
C#sus2 X46644 N/A N/A
D XX0232 Dmaj7 XX0222
Eb X68886 Ebmaj7 X68786
F#m 244222 F#m6 244242

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the G Gypsy Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The G Gypsy Minor consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which G functions as the tonic.
The G Gypsy Minor is also referred to as the F Hungarian Minor scale. It should not be confused with the G Gypsy Major scale.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: