F Gypsy Minor

F Gypsy Minor scale for guitar.
The F Gypsy Minor is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 1st fret.


2 octaves

F gypsy minor scale diagram Notes: F - G - Ab - B - C - Db - E Intervals: 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 F Unison Tonic
2 G Major second Supertonic
b3 Ab Minor third Mediant
#4 B Augmented fourth Subdominant
5 C Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Db Minor sixth Submediant
7 E Major seventh Leading tone

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
Fm 133111 Fm7 131111
G-5 XX5687 G7-5 X45667
Abaug X32110 AbM7#5 43555X
Bsus2 XX9688 N/A N/A
C X32010 Cmaj7 X32000
Db X46664 Dbmaj7 X46564
Em 022000 Em6 022020

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the F Gypsy Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The F Gypsy Minor consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which F functions as the tonic.
The F Gypsy Minor is also referred to as the F Hungarian Minor scale. It should not be confused with the F Gypsy Major scale.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: