F Gypsy Major

F Gypsy Major scale for guitar.
The F Gypsy Major is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 1st fret.


2 octaves

F gypsy Major scale diagram Notes: F - Gb - A - Bb - C - Db - E Intervals: 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 F Unison Tonic
b2 Gb Minor second Supertonic
3 A Major third Mediant
4 Bb Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 C Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Db Minor sixth Submediant
7 E Major seventh Leading tone

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
F XX3211 Fmaj7 XX3210
Gb 244322 Gbmaj7 XX4321
Am X02210 Am6 X02212
Bbm X133211 BbmM7 X13221
C-5 X3455X C7-5 X34345
Dbaug X4322X Dbaug7 X4320X
Esus2(b5)   E6/9b5sus2  

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the F Gypsy Major scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The F Gypsy Major consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which F functions as the tonic.
The F Gypsy Major is also referred to as the G Spanish gypsy scale or the F Byzantine scale.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: