F# Dorian scale

F# Dorian scale for guitar.
The F sharp Dorian is a seven-note scale, also called F sharp Jazz Minor. Colored circles in the diagram mark the notes, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 2nd fret.


2 octaves

F# dorian scale diagram Notes: F# - G# - A - B - C# - D# - E Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 F# Unison Tonic
2 G# Major second Supertonic
b3 A Minor third Mediant
4 B Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 C# Perfect fifth Dominant
6 D# Sixth Submediant
b7 E Minor seventh Subtonic

The F sharp Dorian scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half and whole from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The F sharp Dorian is also a mode of the E Major Scale. It contains exactly the same notes, but starts on another note.
The scale is otherwise most related to the F# Natural Minor and F# Melodic Minor scales, which differ with just one note in both cases.

This scale is typically played over a minor seventh chord (primarily F#m7 in this case) and is used in styles such as jazz and blues.
One way to learn this scale is to observe the minor 7th chord shapes that it is built around. For example, the F#m7 barre chord with the root on the 6th string within the scale in 2nd position. Another way is to think of it as the F# Minor scale with a raised sixth.

Chords that are related to this scale are the following:

F#m7, F#m9, F#m11
Amaj7, Amaj9
B7, B9, B11, B13
C#m7, C#m9, C#m11
Emaj7, Emaj9, Emaj13

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the F# Dorian scale (triads have been excluded).

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: