F# Minor

F sharp Minor scale for guitar presented by diagram.
The F# Minor is a seven-note scale, also called Natural F# Minor. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always F# tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 2nd fret.

F# Minor 2 octaves

F# Minor scale diagram

F# Minor full fretboard

F# Minor scale whole guitar neck diagram

F# Minor with note names

F# Minor scale with note letters diagram
Notes: F# - G# - A - B - C# - D - E Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 F# Unison Tonic
2 G# Major second Supertonic
b3 A Minor third Mediant
4 B Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 C# Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 D Minor sixth Submediant
b7 E Minor seventh Subtonic

The F sharp Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 from the first note to the next octave.
The F# Minor is relative to A Major. Both scales include the same notes but their tonal center differ.
The F# Minor is identical with the F# Aeolian mode.

Beneficial to learn this scale is to observe the note steps starting from the root: whole, half, whole, whole, half, whole, whole. The same formula applies for the whole neck.

These are chords built from the notes of this scale:

F#m, F#m7, F#m9, F#m11
G#dim, G#m7b5
A, Amaj7, A6, A6/9, Amaj9, Amaj13
Bm, Bm7, Bm6, Bm9, Bm11, Bm13
C#m, C#m7
D, Dmaj7, D6, D6/9, Dmaj9
E, E7, E6, E9, E11, E13

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the F# Minor scale in which F#m is the tonic triad and F#m7 the tonic 7th chord.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: