F# Persian

F sharp Persian scale for guitar.
The F# Persian is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note (the tonic) appears on the 6th string, 2nd fret.


2 octaves

F# Persian scale diagram Notes: F# - G - A# - B - C - D - F Intervals: 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 2 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 F# Unison Tonic
b2 G Minor second Supertonic
3 A# Major third Mediant
4 B Perfect fourth Subdominant
b5 C Diminished fifth Dominant
b6 D Minor sixth Submediant
7 F Major seventh Leading tone

The F sharp Persian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps according to the following formula: half, whole and a half, half, half, whole, whole and a half and half from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which F# functions as the tonic.
F# Persian has similarities with F# Gypsy Major, F# Locrian and F# Phrygian Dominant Mode.

This scale is foremost used in Persian and Middle East music.
When harmonized, only the second and fourth degrees are matched with common major or minor triads, G and Bm that is.
One way to learn this scale is to observe the two chromatic sequences as well as the two tree-step intervals in each octave.