F# Harmonic Minor scale

F sharp Harmonic Minor scale for guitar presented by diagram.
The F# Harmonic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, the darker ones are the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first note in the scale is on the 6th string, 2nd fret.


2 octaves

F# harmonic minor scale diagram Notes: F# - G# - A - B - C# - D - E# Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Intervals Degrees
1 F# Unison Tonic
2 G# Major second Supertonic
b3 A Minor third Mediant
4 B Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 C# Perfect fifth Dominant
6 D Minor sixth Submediant
7 E# Minor seventh Subtonic

The seventh degree is written as E#, which is the same as F. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

F#m 244222 F#mM7 XX4665
G#dim XX6797 G#m7b5 XX6777
Aaug X03221 AM7#5 54666X
Bm X24432 Bm7 X20202
C# X46664 C#7 X46464
D XX0232 Dmaj7 XX0222
Fdim XX3101 Fdim7 XX3434

The tones in these chords corresponds to the tones of the F# Harmonic Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The F sharp Harmonic Minor scale consist of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The F# Harmonic Minor is one of three F# Minor scales, the other two are F# natural Minor and F# Melodic Minor.

F sharp scales categories

F# Major F# Minor F# Melodic Minor F# Harmonic Minor F# Major Pentatonic F# Minor Pentatonic F# Dorian F# Gypsy Major F# Gypsy Minor