C# Minor scale

C sharp Minor scale for guitar presented by diagram.
The C# Minor is a seven-note scale, also called Natural C# Minor. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always C# tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 9th fret.


2 octaves

C# minor scale diagram Notes: C# - D# - E - F# - G# - A - B Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 C# Unison Tonic
2 D# Major second Supertonic
b3 E Minor third Mediant
4 F# Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 G# Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 A Minor sixth Submediant
b7 B Minor seventh Subtonic

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • C#m
  • D#dim
  • E
  • F#m
  • G#m
  • A
  • B

The tones in these chords corresponds to the tones of the C# Minor scale.

The C sharp Minor scale consist of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 from the first note to the next octave.
The C# Minor is relative to E Major. Both scales include the same notes but their tonal center differ.
The C# Minor is identical with the C# Aeolian mode.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: