F# Melodic Minor

F sharp Melodic Minor scale for guitar.
The F# Melodic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the fingerboard diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 2nd fret.

F# Melodic Minor 2 octaves

F# Melodic Minor scale diagram

F# Melodic Minor full fretboard

F# Melodic Minor scale whole guitar neck diagram

F# Melodic Minor with note names

F# Melodic Minor scale with note letters diagram
Notes: F# - G# - A - B - C# - D# - E# Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 F# Unison Tonic
2 G# Major second Supertonic
b3 A Minor third Mediant
4 B Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 C# Perfect fifth Dominant
6 D# SixthSubmediant
7 E# Major seventh Subtonic

The seventh degree is written as E#, which is the same as F. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • F#m
  • G#m
  • Aaug
  • B
  • C#
  • D#dim
  • Fdim

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the F# Melodic Minor scale in which F#m is the tonic triad.

The F sharp Melodic Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
This scale has an unusual aspect: it ascends as described above but descends as the Natural Minor. For that reason, it is also known as the Ascending Melodic Minor.
The F# Melodic Minor is one of three A# Minor scales, the other two are F# Natural Minor and F# Harmonic Minor.
The scale is identical with the Major scale apart from the minor third. Because of this, it is sometimes referred to as Ionian b3 scale.