E Melodic Minor scale

E Melodic Minor scale for guitar presented by diagram.
The E Melodic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the fingerboard diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 12th fret.


2 octaves

E melodic minor scale diagram Notes: E - F# - G - A - B - C# - D# Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Intervals Degrees
1 E Unison Tonic
2 F# Major second Supertonic
b3 G Minor third Mediant
4 A Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 B Perfect fifth Dominant
6 C# Minor sixth Submediant
7 D# Minor seventh Subtonic

The main three-note and four-note chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Em 022000 EmM7 X79887
F#m 244222 F#m7 242222
Gaug 321003 GM7#5 32444X
A X02220 A7 X02020
B X24442 B7 X21202
C#dim X4565X C#m7b5 X4545X
D#dim X6787X D#m7b5 X6767X

The tones in these chords corresponds to the tones of the E Melodic Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. “M” is used as an abbreviation instead for “maj” in the third column.

The E Melodic Minor scale consist of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The E Melodic Minor is one of three E Minor scales, the other two are E natural Minor and E Harmonic Minor.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo:

E scales categories

E Major E Minor E Melodic Minor E Harmonic Minor E Major Pentatonic E Minor Pentatonic E Dorian E Gypsy Major E Gypsy Minor