E Spanish

E Spanish scale for guitar.
The E Spanish is an eight-note scale (also referred to as the E Spanish 8 Tones). Notes are displayed in the fingerboard diagram, with the root notes indicated by darker color.

E Spanish 2 octaves

E Spanish scale diagram

E Spanish full fretboard

E Spanish scale whole guitar neck diagram

E Spanish in open position

E Spanish in open position scale diagram
Notes: E - F - G - G# - A - Bb - C - D Intervals: 1 - 2 - 1 - 1 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 Type: Octatonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes and intervals.

Formula Notes Intervals
1 E Unison
b2 F Minor second
3 G Major third
#3 G# Augmented third
4 A Perfect fourth
b5 Bb Diminished fifth
b6 C Minor sixth
b7 D Minor seventh

The E Spanish consists of eight notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: half, whole, half, half, half, whole, whole, whole from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The scale includes two uncommon intervals: an augmented third (G#) and a diminished fifth (Bb).

This scale is used in styles such as Flamenco and Jewish music.
A feature that characterizes the scale is the three half steps notes in a succession, from the third to the fifth note.
E Phrygian has the most similarity with E Spanish among other common scales.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo:

Go to Jam Tracks section for more guitar jam tracks!