E Minor scale

E Minor scale for guitar.
The E Minor is a seven-note scale, also called Natural E Minor. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always E tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 12th fret.

E Minor 2 octaves

E Minor scale diagram

E Minor full fretboard

E Minor scale whole guitar neck diagram

E Minor with note names

E Minor scale with note letters diagram
Notes: E - F# - G - A - B - C - D Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: SeptonicĀ 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 E Unison Tonic
2 F# Major second Supertonic
b3 G Minor third Mediant
4 A Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 B Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 C Minor sixth Submediant
b7 D Minor seventh Subtonic

The E Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 from the first note to the next octave.
The E Minor is relative to G Major. Both scales include the same notes but their tonal center differ.
The E Minor is identical with the E Aeolian mode.

Beneficial to learn this scale is to observe the note steps starting from the root: whole, half, whole, whole, half, whole, whole. The same formula applies for the whole neck.

These are chords built from the notes of this scale:

Em, Em7, Em9, Em11
F#dim, F#m7b5
G, Gmaj7, G6, G6/9, Gmaj9, Gmaj13
Am, Am7, Am6, Am9, Am11, Am13
Bm, Bm7
C, Cmaj7, C6, C6/9, Cmaj9
D, D7, D6, D9, D11, D13

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the E Minor scale.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: