E Persian

E Persian scale for guitar.
The E Persian is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note (the tonic) appears on the 6th string, 12th fret.


2 octaves

E Persian scale diagram Notes: E - F - G# - A - Bb - C - D# Intervals: 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 2 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 E Unison Tonic
b2 F Minor second Supertonic
3 G# Major third Mediant
4 A Perfect fourth Subdominant
b5 Bb Diminished fifth Dominant
b6 C Minor sixth Submediant
7 D# Major seventh Leading tone

The E Persian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps according to the following formula: half, whole and a half, half, half, whole, whole and a half and half from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which E functions as the tonic.
E Persian has similarities with E Gypsy Major, E Locrian and E Phrygian Dominant Mode.

This scale is foremost used in Persian and Middle East music.
When harmonized, only the second and fourth degrees are matched with common major or minor triads, F and Am that is.
One way to learn this scale is to observe the two chromatic sequences as well as the two tree-step intervals in each octave.