E Pentatonic Major

E Pentatonic scale for guitar.
The E Pentatonic Major is a five-note scale. The diagram shows a fingerboard with the scale notes. Darker color marks the root notes, which are E tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 12th fret.

E Pentatonic Major 2 octaves

E Pentatonic Major scale diagram

E Pentatonic Major full fretboard

E Pentatonic Major scale whole guitar neck diagram

E Pentatonic Major with note names

E Pentatonic Major scale with note letters diagram

Shape 1 (11th position)

E Pentatonic Major scale shape diagram 11th pos

Shape 5 (9th position)

E Pentatonic Major scale shape diagram 9th pos
Notes: E - F# - G# - B - C# Intervals: 2 - 2 - 3 - 2 - 3 Type: Pentatonic

The scale and its scale degrees.

Formula Notes
1 E
2 F#
3 G#
5 B
6 C#

The fourth degree is omitted, as well as the seventh, since the degrees are based on the regular Major seven-note scale.

The interval formula (2 - 2 - 3 - 2 - 3) can be expound into specific notes of the scale.

Notes (ascending) Interval
E-F# M2
E-G# M3
E-B P5
E-C# M6
Notes (descending) Interval
E-C# m3
E-B P4
E-G# m6
E-F# m7

Abbreviations are used: M / m stands for major / minor and P stands for perfect.

The notes in the scale can be described as intervals, written as 2 - 2 - 3 - 2 - 3 from the first note to the first in next octave.
The E Pentatonic Major is relative to C# Pentatonic Minor. Both scales include the same notes but with different root notes.

Some of the chords that are related to this scale are listed here:

  • E
  • F#m7
  • G#m7
  • Bsus4
  • C#m

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the E Pentatonic Major scale. Notice that the match is not completely exact, the third (A) in F#m7 and the fifth (D#) in G#m7 are not included in the scale.

Related to this scale is the E Pentatonic Major add4, adding the 4th degree. It can be displayed as follows:

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 E Unison Tonic
2 F# Major second Supertonic
3 G# Major third Mediant
4 A Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 B Perfect fifth Dominant
6 C# Sixth Submediant

The E Pentatonic Major add4 scale, is identical with the E Major except for missing the major 7th interval.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo:

E Pentatonic Major scale first shape ascending.

E Pentatonic Major scale tab

The numbers above the tablature are suggested fingerings.