E Harmonic Minor scale

E Harmonic Minor scale for guitar.
The E Harmonic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, the darker ones highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first note in the scale is on the 6th string, 12th fret.


2 octaves

E harmonic minor scale diagram Notes: E - F# - G - A - B - C - D# Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 E Unison Tonic
2 F# Major second Supertonic
b3 G Minor third Mediant
4 A Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 B Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 C Minor sixth Submediant
7 D# Minor seventh Subtonic

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Em 022000 EmM7 021000
F#dim XX4575 F#m7b5 XX4555
Gaug 321003 GM7#5 32444X
Am X02210 Am7 X02010
B X24442 B7 X21201
C X32010 Cmaj7 X32000
D#dim X6787X D#dim7 XX4545

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the E Harmonic Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The E Harmonic Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard from the first note to the next octave. Written as semi-notes: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1. Written as steps: whole, half, whole, whole, half, whole and a half, half.
The E Harmonic Minor is one of three E Minor scales, the other two are E Natural Minor and E Melodic Minor.