C# Pentatonic Minor scale

C#m pentatonic scale for guitar.
The C sharp Pentatonic Minor is a five-note scale. The diagram shows a fingerboard with the notes in the scale. Darker color marks the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 9th fret.


2 octaves

C# pentatonic minor scale diagram Notes: C# - E - F# - G# - B Intervals: 3 - 2 - 2 - 3 - 2 Type: Pentatonic

The scale and its scale degrees.

Formula Notes
1 C#
b3 E
4 F#
5 G#
b7 B

The second and the sixth degrees are omitted, for the reason that the degrees are based on the natural Minor seven-note scale.

Some of the chords that are related to this scale are listed here:

  • C#m
  • E
  • F#m7
  • G#m7
  • B5

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the C# Pentatonic Minor scale. Notice that the match is not completely exact, the third (A) in F#m7 and the fifth (D#) in G#m7 are not included in the scale.

The notes in the scale can be described as intervals, written as 3 - 2 - 2 - 3 - 2 from the first note to the first in next octave.
The C# Pentatonic Minor is relative to E Pentatonic Major. Both scales include the same notes but has different root notes.