Eb Melodic Minor scale

E flat Melodic Minor scale for guitar.
The Eb Melodic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the fingerboard diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 11th fret.


2 octaves

Eb melodic minor scale diagram Notes: Eb - F - Gb - Ab - Bb - C - D Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Eb Unison Tonic
2 F Major second Supertonic
b3 Gb Minor third Mediant
4 Ab Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 Bb Perfect fifth Dominant
6 C Minor sixth Submediant
7 D Minor seventh Subtonic

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • Ebm
  • Fm
  • Gbaug
  • Ab
  • Bb
  • Cdim
  • Ddim

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Eb Melodic Minor scale.

The E flat Melodic Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The Eb Melodic Minor is one of three Eb Minor scales, the other two are Eb Natural Minor and Eb Harmonic Minor.
The scale is identical with the Major scale apart from the minor third. Because of this, it is sometimes referred to as Ionian b3 scale.