F Harmonic Minor scale

F Harmonic Minor scale for guitar.
The F Harmonic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, the darker ones highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first note in the scale is on the 6th string, 1st fret.


2 octaves

F harmonic minor scale diagram Notes: F - G - Ab - Bb - C - Db - E Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 F Unison Tonic
2 G Major second Supertonic
b3 Ab Minor third Mediant
4 Bb Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 C Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Db Minor sixth Submediant
7 E Minor seventh Subtonic

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Fm 133111 FmM7 XX3554
Gdim XX5686 Gm7b5 XX5666
Abaug X32110 AbM7#5 43555X
Bbm X13321 Bbm7 X13121
C X32010 C7 X32310
Db X46664 Dbmaj7 X46564
Edim X7898X Edim7 XX2323

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the F Harmonic Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The F Harmonic Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard from the first note to the next octave. Written as semi-notes: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1. Written as steps: whole, half, whole, whole, half, whole and a half, half.
The F Harmonic Minor is one of three F Minor scales, the other two are F Natural Minor and F Melodic Minor.