Eb Gypsy Major

E flat Gypsy Major scale for guitar.
The Eb Gypsy Major is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 11th fret.


2 octaves

Eb gypsy Major scale diagram Notes: Eb - E - G - Ab - Bb - B - D Intervals: 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Eb Unison Tonic
b2 E Minor second Supertonic
3 G Major third Mediant
4 Ab Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 Bb Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 B Minor sixth Submediant
7 D Major seventh Leading tone

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
Eb X68886 Ebmaj7 X68786
E 022100 Emaj7 021100
Gm 355333 Gm6 355353
Abm 466444 AbmM7 XX6887
Bb-5 X1233X Bb7-5 012130
Baug X21003 Baug7 7X788X
Dsus2(b5)   D6/9b5sus2  

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Eb Gypsy Major scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The E flat Gypsy Major consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which Eb functions as the tonic.
The Eb Gypsy Major is also referred to as the Eb Spanish gypsy scale or the Eb Byzantine scale.