D Melodic Minor

D Melodic Minor scale for guitar.
The D Melodic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the fingerboard diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 10th fret.

D Melodic Minor 2 octaves

D Melodic Minor scale diagram

D Melodic Minor full fretboard

D Melodic Minor scale whole guitar neck diagram

D Melodic Minor with note names

D Melodic Minor scale with note letters diagram

Shape 1 (9th position) with fingerings

D Melodic Minor scale shape 1 diagram

Shape 2 (12th position) with fingerings

D Melodic Minor scale shape 2 diagram

Shape 3 (2nd position) with fingerings

D Melodic Minor scale shape 3 diagram

Shape 4 (4th position) with fingerings

D Melodic Minor scale shape 4 diagram

Shape 5 (7th position) with fingerings

D Melodic Minor scale shape 5 diagram
Notes: D - E - F - G - A - B - C# Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 D Unison Tonic
2 E Major second Supertonic
b3 F Minor third Mediant
4 G Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 A Perfect fifth Dominant
6 B Sixth Submediant
7 C# Major seventh Subtonic

The interval formula (2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1) can be expound into specific notes of the scale.

Notes (ascending) Interval
D-E M2
D-F m3
D-G P4
D-A P5
D-B M6
D-C# M7
Notes (descending) Interval
D-C# m2
D-B m3
D-A P4
D-G P5
D-F M6
D-E m7

Abbreviations are used: M / m stands for major / minor and P stands for perfect.

The main three-note and four-note chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Dm XX0231 Dm6 XX0201
Em 022000 Em7 022030
Faug X8766X FM7#5 103220
G 320003 G7 320001
A X02220 A7 X02020
Bdim X2343X Bm7b5 X2323X
C#dim X4565X C#m7b5 X4545X

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the D Melodic Minor scale in which Dm is the tonic triad.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. “M” is used as an abbreviation instead for “maj” in the third column.

The D Melodic Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
This scale has an unusual aspect: it ascends as described above but descends as the Natural Minor. For that reason, it is also known as the Ascending Melodic Minor.
The D Melodic Minor is one of three D Minor scales, the other two are D Natural Minor and D Harmonic Minor.
The scale is identical with the Major scale apart from the minor third. Because of this, it is sometimes referred to as Ionian b3 scale.

If you already know the D Natural Minor, the equivalent Melodic Minor is distinguished with the raised sixth and seventh intervals.
Also beneficial for learning this scale is to observe the note steps, starting from the root: whole, half, whole, whole, whole, whole, half

D Melodic Minor scale first shape ascending.

D Melodic Minor scale tab

The numbers above the tablature are suggested fingerings.