Eb Ionian

E flat Ionian scale for guitar.
The Eb Ionian is a seven-note scale (also referred to as the Eb Major scale). Notes are displayed in the fingerboard diagram, with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 5th string, 6th fret.


2 octaves

Eb Ionian scale diagram Notes: Eb - F - G - Ab - Bb - C - D Intervals: 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Eb Unison Tonic
2 F Major second Supertonic
3 G Major third Mediant
4 Ab Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 Bb Perfect fifth Dominant
6 C Sixth Submediant
7 DMajor seventh Leading tone

The E flat Ionian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half from the first note to the same in the next octave.
Eb Ionian is the first mode of Eb Major and therefore both scales include the same notes and in the same order.

This scale is used in numerous styles, such as various forms of pop, rock and classical music.
Since this scale is exactly the same as the Major scale you don't have to put any time into learning it.

The main three-note and four-note chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Eb X68886 Ebmaj7 X68786
Fm 133111 Fm7 131111
Gm 355333 Gm7 353333
Ab 466544 Abmaj7 465544
Bb X13331 Bb7 X13131
Cm X35543 Cm7 X35343
Ddim X5676X Dm7b5 X5656X

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Eb Ionian mode.