Eb Gypsy Minor

E flat Gypsy Minor scale for guitar.
The Eb Gypsy Minor is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 11th fret.


2 octaves

Eb gypsy minor scale diagram Notes: Eb - F - Gb - A - Bb - B - D Intervals: 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Eb Unison Tonic
2 F Major second Supertonic
b3 Gb Minor third Mediant
#4 A Augmented fourth Subdominant
5 Bb Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 B Minor sixth Submediant
7 D Minor seventh Subtonic

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
Ebm X68876 Ebm7 X68676
F-5 XX3465 F7-5 X23445
Gbaug X9877X GbM7#5 21333X
Asus2 X02200 N/A N/A
Bb X13331 Bbmaj7 X13231
B X24442 Bmaj7 X24342
Dm XX0231 Dm6 XX0201

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Eb Gypsy Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The E flat Gypsy Minor consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which Eb functions as the tonic.
The Eb Gypsy Minor is also referred to as the Eb Hungarian Minor scale. It should not be confused with the Eb Gypsy Major scale.