Eb Dorian Bebop

E flat Dorian Bebop scale for guitar.
The Eb Dorian Bebop is an eight-note scale. Colored circles in the diagram mark the notes in the scale with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the fretboard pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 11th fret.


2 octaves

Eb Dorian Bebop scale diagram Notes: Eb - F - Gb - G - Ab - Bb - C - Db Intervals: 2 - 1 - 1 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 Type: Octatonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes and intervals.

Formula Notes Intervals
1 Eb Unison
2 F Major second
b3 Gb Minor third
3 G Major third
4 Ab Perfect fourth
5 Bb Perfect fifth
6 C Sixth
b7 Db Minor seventh

The Eb Dorian Bebop scale consists of eight notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, half, half, half, whole, whole, half, whole from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The Eb Dorian Bebop has the same notes as the Eb Dorian, but includes a passing note between the third and fifth notes.
The Ab Mixolydian Bebop scale can be seen as a mode of the Eb Dorian Bebop. These scales include the same notes but in different orders.

This scale is mainly used in the bebop style of jazz.
The most obvious way to learn this scale is to think of it as a Dorian mode with an extra note.

Some of the main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • Ebm7
  • Fm7
  • Gbmaj7
  • Ab7
  • Bbm7
  • Cm7b5
  • Dbmaj7

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of this scale.

The presented scale is one of two known E flat Dorian Bebop scales. The other version has a major seventh interval instead for the major third and can be displayed as follows:

Formula Notes Intervals
1 Eb Unison
2 F Major second
b3 Gb Minor third
4 Ab Perfect fourth
5 Bb Diminished fifth
6 C Minor sixth
b7 Db Minor seventh
7 D Major seventh

In addition, there are also Major Bebop and Minor Bebop.