D Minor scale

D Minor scale for guitar.
The D Minor is a seven-note scale, also called Natural D Minor. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always D tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 10th fret.


2 octaves

D minor scale diagram Notes: D - E - F - G - A - Bb - C Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 D Unison Tonic
2 E Major second Supertonic
b3 F Minor third Mediant
4 G Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 A Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Bb Minor sixth Submediant
b7 C Minor seventh Subtonic

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • Dm
  • Edim
  • F
  • Gm
  • Am
  • Bb
  • C

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the D Minor scale.

The D Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 from the first note to the next octave.
The D Minor is relative to F Major. Both scales include the same notes but their tonal center differ.
The D Minor is identical with the D Aeolian mode.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: