C# Persian

C sharp Persian scale for guitar.
The C# Persian is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note (the tonic) appears on the 6th string, 9th fret.


2 octaves

C# Persian scale diagram Notes: C# - D - E# - F# - G - A - B#Intervals: 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 2 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 C# Unison Tonic
b2 D Minor second Supertonic
3 E# Major third Mediant
4 F# Perfect fourth Subdominant
b5 G Diminished fifth Dominant
b6 A Minor sixth Submediant
7 B# Major seventh Leading tone

The third degree is written as E#, which is the same as F. The seventh degree is written as B#, which is the same as C. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The C sharp Persian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps according to the following formula: half, whole and a half, half, half, whole, whole and a half and half from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which C# functions as the tonic.
C# Persian has similarities with C# Gypsy Major, C# Locrian and C# Phrygian Dominant Mode.

This scale is foremost used in Persian and Middle East music.
When harmonized, only the second and fourth degrees are matched with common major or minor triads, D and F#m that is.
One way to learn this scale is to observe the two chromatic sequences as well as the two tree-step intervals in each octave.