C Minor scale

C Minor scale for guitar.
The C Minor is a seven-note scale, also called Natural C Minor. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always C tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 8th fret.


2 octaves

C minor scale diagram Notes: C - D - Eb - F - G - Ab - Bb Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 C Unison Tonic
2 D Major second Supertonic
b3 Eb Minor third Mediant
4 F Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 G Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Ab Minor sixth Submediant
b7 Bb Minor seventh Subtonic

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • Cm
  • Ddim
  • Eb
  • Fm
  • Gm
  • Ab
  • Bb

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the C Minor scale.

The C Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 from the first note to the next octave.
The C Minor is relative to Eb Major. Both scales include the same notes but their tonal center differ.
The C Minor is identical with the C Aeolian mode.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: