C# Pentatonic Major

C sharp pentatonic scale for guitar.
The C# Pentatonic Major is a five-note scale. The fingerboard diagram shows the scale notes with root notes in darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 9th fret.

C# Pentatonic Major 2 octaves

C# Pentatonic Major scale diagram

C# Pentatonic Major full fretboard

C# Pentatonic Major scale whole guitar neck diagram

C# Pentatonic Major with note names

C# Pentatonic Major scale with note letters diagram
Notes: C# - D# - F - G# - A# Intervals: 2 - 2 - 3 - 2 - 3 Type: Pentatonic

The scale and its scale degrees.

Formula Notes
1 C#
2 D#
3 F
5 G#
6 A#

The fourth degree is omitted, as well as the seventh, since the degrees are based on the regular Major seven-note scale.

Some of the chords that are related to this scale are listed here:

  • C#
  • D#m7
  • Fm7
  • G#sus4
  • A#m

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the C# Pentatonic Major scale. Notice that the match is not completely exact, the third (F#) in D#m7 and the fifth (C) in Fm7 are not included in the scale.

The notes in the scale can be described as intervals, written as 2 - 2 - 3 - 2 - 3 from the first note to the first in next octave.
The C# Pentatonic Major is relative to A# Pentatonic Minor. Both scales include the same notes but with different root notes.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo:

C sharp Pentatonic Major scale first shape ascending.

C# Pentatonic Major scale tab

The numbers above the tablature are suggested fingerings.