C# Gypsy Major scale

C sharp Gypsy Major scale for guitar presented by diagram.
The C# Gypsy Major is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 9th fret.


2 octaves

C# gypsy Major scale diagram Notes: C# - D - F - F# - G# - A - C Intervals: 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Intervals Degrees
1 C# Unison Tonic
b2 D Minor second Supertonic
3 F Major third Mediant
4 F# Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 G# Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 A Minor sixth Submediant
7 C Major seventh Subtonic

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
C# X46664 C#maj7 X46564
D XX0232 Dmaj7 XX0222
Fm 133111 Fm6 XX0111
F#m 244222 F#mM7 XX4665
G#-5 XX6798 G#7-5 X56778
Aaug X03221 Aaug7 5X566X
Csus2(b5)   C6/9b5sus2  

The tones in these chords corresponds to the tones of the C# Gypsy Major scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The C sharp Gypsy Major consist of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which C# function as the root tone.
The C# Gypsy Major is also referred to as the C# Spanish gypsy scale or the C# Byzantine scale.

C sharp scales categories

C# Major C# Minor C# Melodic Minor C# Harmonic Minor C# Major Pentatonic C# Minor Pentatonic C# Dorian C# Gypsy Major C# Gypsy Minor