C# Melodic Minor scale

C sharp Melodic Minor scale for guitar.
The C# Melodic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the fingerboard diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 9th fret.


2 octaves

C# melodic minor scale diagram Notes: C# - D# - E - F# - G# - A# - B# Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 C# Unison Tonic
2 D# Major second Supertonic
b3 E Minor third Mediant
4 F# Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 G# Perfect fifth Dominant
6 A# Minor sixth Submediant
7 B# Minor seventh Subtonic

The seventh degree is written as B#, which is the same as C. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • C#m
  • D#m
  • Eaug
  • F#
  • G#
  • A#dim
  • Cdim

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the C# Melodic Minor scale.

The C sharp Melodic Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The C# Melodic Minor is one of three A# Minor scales, the other two are C# Natural Minor and C# Harmonic Minor.
The scale is identical with the Major scale apart from the minor third. Because of this, it is sometimes referred to as Ionian b3 scale.