C Melodic Minor scale

C Melodic Minor scale for guitar.
The C Melodic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the fingerboard diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 8th fret.


2 octaves

C melodic minor scale diagram Notes: C - D - Eb - F - G - A - B Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 C Unison Tonic
2 D Major second Supertonic
b3 Eb Minor third Mediant
4 F Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 G Perfect fifth Dominant
6 A Minor sixth Submediant
7 B Minor seventh Subtonic

The main three-note and four-note chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Cm X35543 Cm6 XX1213
Dm XX0231 Dm7 XX0211
Ebaug X6544X EbM7#5 X6X787
F 133211 F7 131211
G 320003 G7 320001
Adim X0121X Am7b5 XX0101
Bdim X2343X Bm7b5 X2323X

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the C Melodic Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. “M” is used as an abbreviation instead for “maj” in the third column.

The C Melodic Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The C Melodic Minor is one of three C Minor scales, the other two are C Natural Minor and C Harmonic Minor.
The scale is identical with the Major scale apart from the minor third. Because of this, it is sometimes referred to as Ionian b3 scale.