C Ionian

C Ionian scale for guitar.
The C Ionian is a seven-note scale (also referred to as the C Major scale). Notes are displayed in the fingerboard diagram, with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 8th fret.


2 octaves

C Ionian scale diagram Notes: C - D - E - F - G - A - B Intervals: 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 C Unison Tonic
2 D Major second Supertonic
3 E Major third Mediant
4 F Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 G Perfect fifth Dominant
6 A Sixth Submediant
7 BMajor seventh Leading tone

The C Ionian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half from the first note to the same in the next octave.
C Ionian is the first mode of C Major and therefore both scales include the same notes and in the same order.

This scale is used in numerous styles, such as various forms of pop, rock and classical music.
Since this scale is exactly the same as the Major scale you don't have to put any time into learning it.

The main three-note and four-note chords that are related to this scale are the following:

C X32010 Cmaj7 X32000
Dm XX0231 Dm7 XX0211
Em 022000 Em7 022030
F XX3211 Fmaj7 XX3210
G 320003 G7 320001
Am X02210 Am7 X02010
Bdim X2343X Bm7b5 X2323X

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the C Ionian mode.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: