C Harmonic Minor scale

C Harmonic Minor scale for guitar presented by diagram.
The C Harmonic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, the darker ones highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first note in the scale is on the 6th string, 8th fret.


2 octaves

C harmonic minor scale diagram Notes: C - D - Eb - F - G - Ab - B Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Intervals Degrees
1 C Unison Tonic
2 D Major second Supertonic
b3 Eb Minor third Mediant
4 F Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 G Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Ab Minor sixth Submediant
7 B Minor seventh Subtonic

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Cm X35543 CmM7 X35443
Ddim X5676X Dm7b5 X5656X
Ebaug X6544X EbM7#5 X6X787
Fm 133111 Fm7 131111
G 320003 G7 320001
Ab 466544 Abmaj7 465544
Bdim X2343X Bdim7 XX0101

The tones in these chords corresponds to the tones of the C Harmonic Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The C Harmonic Minor scale consist of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The C Harmonic Minor is one of three C Minor scales, the other two are C natural Minor and C Melodic Minor.

C scales categories

C Major C Minor C Melodic Minor C Harmonic Minor C Major Pentatonic C Minor Pentatonic C Dorian C Gypsy Major C Gypsy Minor