B Minor scale

B Minor scale for guitar.
The B Minor is a seven-note scale, also called Natural B Minor. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always B tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 7th fret.

B Minor 2 octaves

B Minor scale diagram

B Minor full fretboard

B Minor scale whole guitar neck diagram

B Minor with note names

B Minor scale with note letters diagram
Notes: B - C# - D - E - F# - G - A Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: SeptonicĀ 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 B Unison Tonic
2 C# Major second Supertonic
b3 D Minor third Mediant
4 E Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 F# Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 G Minor sixth Submediant
b7 A Minor seventh Subtonic

The B Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 from the first note to the next octave.
The B Minor is relative to D Major. Both scales include the same notes but their tonal center differ.
The B Minor is identical with the B Aeolian mode.

Beneficial to learn this scale is to observe the note steps starting from the root: whole, half, whole, whole, half, whole, whole. The same formula applies for the whole neck.

These are chords built from the notes of this scale:

Bm, Bm7, Bm9, Bm11
C#dim, C#m7b5
D, Dmaj7, D6, D6/9, Dmaj9, Dmaj13
Em, Em7, Em6, Em9, Em11, Em13
F#m, F#m7
G, Gmaj7, G6, G6/9, Gmaj9
A, A7, A6, A9, A11, A13

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the B Minor scale.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: