C Dorian scale

C Dorian scale for guitar.
The C Dorian is a seven-note scale, also called C Jazz Minor. Colored circles in the diagram mark the notes, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 8th fret.


2 octaves

C dorian scale diagram Notes: C - D - Eb - F - G - A - Bb Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Intervals Degrees
1 C Unison Tonic
2 D Major second Supertonic
b3 Eb Minor third Mediant
4 F Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 G Perfect fifth Dominant
6 A Sixth Submediant
b7 Bb Minor seventh Subtonic

Chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Cm7, Cm9, Cm11
Ebmaj7, Ebmaj9
F7, F9, F11, F13
Gm7, Gm9, Gm11
Bbmaj7, Bbmaj9, Bbmaj13

The tones in these chords corresponds to the tones of the C Dorian scale (triads have been excluded).

The C Dorian scale consist of seven notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half and whole from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The C Dorian is also a mode of the Bb Major Scale. It contains exactly the same notes, but starts on another note.
The scale is otherwise most related to the C Natural Minor and C Melodic Minor scales, which differ with just one note in both cases.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: