G Harmonic Minor scale

G Harmonic Minor scale for guitar.
The G Harmonic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, the darker ones highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first note in the scale is on the 6th string, 3rd fret.


2 octaves

G harmonic minor scale diagram Notes: G - A - Bb - C - D - Eb - F# Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 G Unison Tonic
2 A Major second Supertonic
b3 Bb Minor third Mediant
4 C Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 D Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Eb Minor sixth Submediant
7 F# Minor seventh Subtonic

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Gm 355333 GmM7 XX5767
Adim X0121X Am7b5 XX7888
Bbaug X10332 BbM7#5 65777X
Cm X35543 Cm7 X35343
D XX0232 D7 XX0212
Eb X68886 Ebmaj7 X68786
F#dim XX4575 F#dim7 XX4545

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the G Harmonic Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The G Harmonic Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard from the first note to the next octave. Written as semi-notes: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1. Written as steps: whole, half, whole, whole, half, whole and a half, half.
The G Harmonic Minor is one of three G Minor scales, the other two are G Natural Minor and G Melodic Minor.