D# Minor scale

D sharp Minor scale for guitar presented by diagram.
The D# Minor is a seven-note scale, also called Natural D# Minor. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always D# tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 11th fret.


2 octaves

D# minor scale diagram Notes: D# - E# -F# - G# - A# - B - C# Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 D# Unison Tonic
2 E# Major second Supertonic
b3 F# Minor third Mediant
4 G# Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 A# Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 B Minor sixth Submediant
b7 C# Minor seventh Subtonic

The second degree is written as E#, which is the same as F. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • D#m
  • Fdim
  • F#
  • G#m
  • A#m
  • B
  • C#

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the D# Minor scale.

The D sharp Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 from the first note to the next octave.
The D# Minor is relative to F# Major. Both scales include the same notes but their tonal center differ.
The D# Minor is identical with the D# Aeolian mode.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: