D# Melodic Minor scale

D sharp Melodic Minor scale for guitar.
The D# Melodic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the fingerboard diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 11th fret.


2 octaves

D# melodic minor scale diagram Notes: D# - E# - F# - G# - A# - B# - C## Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 D# Unison Tonic
2 E# Major second Supertonic
b3 F# Minor third Mediant
4 G# Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 A# Perfect fifth Dominant
6 B# Minor sixth Submediant
7 C## Minor seventh Subtonic

The second degree is written as E#, which is the same as F. The sixth degree is written as B#, which is the same as C. The seventh degree is written as C##, which is the same as D. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • D#m
  • Fm
  • F#aug
  • G#
  • A#
  • Cdim
  • Ddim

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the D# Melodic Minor scale.

The D sharp Melodic Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The D# Melodic Minor is one of three A# Minor scales, the other two are D# Natural Minor and D# Harmonic Minor.
The scale is identical with the Major scale apart from the minor third. Because of this, it is sometimes referred to as Ionian b3 scale.