D# Harmonic Minor scale

D sharp Harmonic Minor scale for guitar.
The D# Harmonic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, the darker ones are the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first note in the scale is on the 6th string, 11th fret.


2 octaves

D# harmonic minor scale diagram Notes: D# - E# - F# - G# - A# - B - C## Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 D# Unison Tonic
2 E# Major second Supertonic
b3 F# Minor third Mediant
4 G# Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 A# Perfect fifth Dominant
6 B Minor sixth Submediant
7 C## Minor seventh Subtonic

The second degree is written as E#, which is the same as F. The seventh degree is written as C##, which is the same as D. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

D#m X68876 D#mM7 X68776
Fdim 1231XX Fm7b5 X8989X
F#aug X9877X F#M7#5 21333X
G#m 466444 G#m7 464444
A# 688766 A#7 686766
B X24442 Bmaj7 X24342
Ddim X5676X Ddim7 XX3434

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the D# Harmonic Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The D sharp Harmonic Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard from the first note to the next octave. Written as semi-notes: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1. Written as steps: whole, half, whole, whole, half, whole and a half, half.
The D# Harmonic Minor is one of three D# Minor scales, the other two are D# Natural Minor and D# Melodic Minor.