D# Persian

D sharp Persian scale for guitar.
The D# Persian is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note (the tonic) appears on the 6th string, 11th fret.


2 octaves

D# Persian scale diagram Notes: D# - E - F## - G# - A - B - C##Intervals: 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 2 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 D# Unison Tonic
b2 E Minor second Supertonic
3 F## Major third Mediant
4 G# Perfect fourth Subdominant
b5 A Diminished fifth Dominant
b6 B Minor sixth Submediant
7 C## Major seventh Leading tone

The third degree is written as F##, which is the same as G. The seventh degree is written as C##, which is the same as D. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The D sharp Persian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps according to the following formula: half, whole and a half, half, half, whole, whole and a half and half from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which D# functions as the tonic.
D# Persian has similarities with D# Gypsy Major, D# Locrian and D# Phrygian Dominant Mode.

This scale is foremost used in Persian and Middle East music.
When harmonized, only the second and fourth degrees are matched with common major or minor triads, E and G#m that is.
One way to learn this scale is to observe the two chromatic sequences as well as the two tree-step intervals in each octave.