D Harmonic Minor scale

D Harmonic Minor scale for guitar.
The D Harmonic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, the darker ones highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first note in the scale is on the 6th string, 10th fret.


2 octaves

D harmonic minor scale diagram Notes: D - E - F - G - A - Bb - C# Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 D Unison Tonic
2 E Major second Supertonic
b3 F Minor third Mediant
4 G Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 A Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Bb Minor sixth Submediant
7 C# Minor seventh Subtonic

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Dm XX0231 DmM7 X57665
Edim X7898X Em7b5 X7878X
Faug X8766X FM7#5 10222X
Gm 355333 Gm7 353333
A X02220 A7 X02020
Bb 466544 Bbmaj7 465544
C#dim X4565X C#dim7 XX2323

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the D Harmonic Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The D Harmonic Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard from the first note to the next octave. Written as semi-notes: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1. Written as steps: whole, half, whole, whole, half, whole and a half, half.
The D Harmonic Minor is one of three D Minor scales, the other two are D Natural Minor and D Melodic Minor.