Db Ionian

D flat Ionian scale for guitar.
The Db Ionian is a seven-note scale (also referred to as the Db Major scale). Notes are displayed in the fingerboard diagram, with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 9th fret.


2 octaves

Db Ionian scale diagram Notes: Db - Eb - F - Gb - Ab - Bb - C Intervals: 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Db Unison Tonic
2 Eb Major second Supertonic
3 F Major third Mediant
4 Gb Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 Ab Perfect fifth Dominant
6 Bb Sixth Submediant
7 C Major seventh Leading tone

The D flat Ionian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half from the first note to the same in the next octave.
Db Ionian is the first mode of Db Major and therefore both scales include the same notes and in the same order.

This scale is used in numerous styles, such as various forms of pop, rock and classical music.
Since this scale is exactly the same as the Major scale you don't have to put any time into learning it.

The main three-note and four-note chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Db X46664 Dbmaj7 X46564
Ebm X68876 Ebm7 X68676
Fm 133111 Fm7 131111
Gb 244322 Gbmaj7 XX4321
Ab 466544 Ab7 464544
Bbm X13321 Bbm7 X13121
Cdim X3454X Cm7b5 X3434X

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Db Ionian mode.