Db Gypsy Minor

D flat Gypsy Minor scale for guitar.
The Db Gypsy Minor is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 9th fret.


2 octaves

Db gypsy minor scale diagram Notes: Db - Eb - E - G - Ab - A - C Intervals: 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Db Unison Tonic
2 Eb Major second Supertonic
b3 E Minor third Mediant
#4 G Augmented fourth Subdominant
5 Ab Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 A Minor sixth Submediant
7 C Minor seventh Subtonic

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
Dbm X46654 Dbm7 X46454
Eb-5 X6788X Eb7-5 X67678
Eaug X32110 EM7#5 030033
Gsus2 XX5244 N/A N/A
Ab 466544 Abmaj7 465544
A X02220 Amaj7 X02120
Cm X35543 Cm6 XX1213

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Db Gypsy Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The D flat Gypsy Minor consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which Db functions as the tonic.
The Db Gypsy Minor is also referred to as the Db Hungarian Minor scale. It should not be confused with the Db Gypsy Major scale.